top of page
Search
Writer's picturecurvy.n.chic

Good Things Take Time

Hey babes. It’s been a hot minute since I last posted a blog. I really set out to do better this year, but I clearly haven’t succeeded. I’m a bit stressed at work, and a family member just passed away a couple of weeks ago, so that has brought its own stresses (I don’t know why weddings and funerals bring out the worst in people). I’m not going to lie; this blog is not about fashion and might be a little bit of a rant, so if you’re not here for it, trust me, I completely understand.


I have recently been flirting with the idea of walking away from micro blogging on Instagram. It’s suddenly not as fulfilling as it once was, and I’m not sure if that because I’m stressed or because I feel like I’m failing.


When I started this journey about 9 months ago, I was so excited to share my style and connect with other women -- I wanted to inspire and be inspired. But it hasn’t exactly happened the way I envisioned it. First, I have attracted way more men then I have women. And that’s fine-- there are some wonderful and supportive gentlemen out there, but connecting with men was not my original vision. Yes, I have made some amazing female connections too, but I can’t help but feel frustrated with the idea that my page is more appealing to men than it is women.


So, I’ve been asking myself if I am relevant --to women I mean? Should I be here? Does my account matter? Is this a waste of my time and energy?


But a recent message helped gave me a different perspective. Not too long ago I got a DM from a woman who told me my page inspired her. She said she had been eyeing a swimsuit that she wasn't sure would be flattering, but seeing me in it gave her the courage to give it a go. And I thought wow, okay, maybe I'm on the right track. Shortly after that I got another message. The person told me that she loved my feed and my positive vibe and to keep the post coming. I can’t tell you what that meant to me during a time of doubting myself --shout out to anyone who takes the time to encourage others.


So, I guess this is my point – don’t quit just because it doesn’t look like your winning…looks can be deceiving. Stick with the things that inspire you…you never know whose life you might be touching or who’s journey you might make a little easier. You never know who you might be inspiring.


And let me expose myself a bit… I’m guilty of the comparison game. I was looking at the success of other pages and measuring my own success against theirs. But success doesn’t look the same for everyone. My blog and Instagram page are still new…so I must trust the process of becoming. I may not be reaching all the women I would like to, but I am reaching some, so I should celebrate that.


I don’t know who this message might resonate with, but sometimes we have to let go of what we thought something “should be” and appreciate what it is. If your working on something that doesn’t seem to be panning out, don’t quit. Remember, most good things take time. So keep going!


Celebrate where you are and where you are going. And remember, good things take time.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page