top of page
Search
Writer's picturecurvy.n.chic

Happy New Year!

Well, first off, Happy New Year! I know I have been missing in action. One reason is unreliable "free" blog software. Yes, it's thrifty and convenient, but it doesn't always work. But, in all honestly, most of it is pure laziness and simply being distracted by all the goings on of the holidays. But HELLO NEW YEAR! Time to start fresh and shake off old distractions. I don't do New Year Resolutions, but I do try to start the year with a mantra or a theme...kinda a personal vision so to speak. This year, my mantra is all about being brave. I literally want to spend this year being the heroin of my own life.


For me, being brave means stepping out of my comfort zone. I'm typically a very private person and I tend to over analyze everything. So putting myself out there to be judged...and possibly rejected...is a hard thing for me to do. But in order to be a hero, I have to step out and be seen. I can't hide in the crowd. And, yes, stepping out means being judged. I'm sure there are those saying "what does she think she's doing", "why is she doing that, or wearing that, or saying that", "she just wants attention" and so on and so forth. But what I am doing is for me. No one else has to understand it. No one else has to approve it or like it. For the first time in my life I love my body and I'm truly happy just being me. Not because I'm perfect or my body is perfect, but because me and my body are both worthy of love. And that is a huge milestone for me. So I choose to celebrate that in a way that makes me happy and hopefully encourages other women to love their bodies and celebrate who they are and what they look like.


Yes, I'm 40, and I'm a wife... and I'm a mother and aunt, and a sister, and a daughter, I'm a co-worker, and a friend. And with all those labels comes societies expectation of what you should look like, dress like, be like, act like. Well, I say eff that! I'm striving to be my own hero -- that's the role I'm focused on in 2019--and that may not look the way society thinks it should! But I'm striving to make myself and my joy a priority and not bury myself under all the other roles I currently fill. You have to take something out of life for yourself. Life may not just give it to you--YOU HAVE TO TAKE IT! You have to pour into YOURSELF and your own well-being! So step out and be seen in all your glorious light. Let them see you sparkle. If they don't like it, let them look away. Don't dim your shine for anyone. Wear that dress. Squeeze into those jeans, and let a little cleavage show if that's what makes you happy. Don't hide honey, because your not alone. I'm squeezing in those jeans and stepping into the light of a BRAVE NEW YEAR!

Navy Ruffle Hem Lace Fit & Flare Dress - Lane Bryant

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


bottom of page